Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:47 am
by playerone
I really like the ArcoLinux project and for now it seems Xfce is my favorite desktop. I've tried other distros in the past with the desktop but it wasn't as polished.

My question is, what is the best way to have such a well configured/themed desktop, but only using the official Arch repos (i.e. no unofficial xfwm builds) ? Basically I'd like to install ArcoLinux Xfce without enabling its extra repos. Perhaps it can be done using the ArcolinuxB iso?

(Note: I've tried to post this question in the "Phase 1 ArcoLinux General Questions" forum as this isn't a technical issue, but there was no "new topic" button)

Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:55 pm
by erikdubois
Sounds like you want to go to phase 5 and do an Arch Linux installation and not use ArcoLinux repo's.

https://arcolinuxd.com/1-how-will-we-pr ... rch-linux/

Theming however takes a lot of blood, tears, sweat and TIME

Working on the ArcoLinuxB iso you should hashtag out the arcolinux packages but not all.

Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:21 pm
by playerone
Thanks for replying. Before I go the ArcoLinuxB route, I was wondering if it would be possible to just install the main ArcoLinux (easier for theming and configs) and then comment out its repos and use pacman to "upgrade" (reinstall) the official packages?

Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:29 pm
by erikdubois
playerone wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:21 pm
Thanks for replying. Before I go the ArcoLinuxB route, I was wondering if it would be possible to just install the main ArcoLinux (easier for theming and configs) and then comment out its repos and use pacman to "upgrade" (reinstall) the official packages?

Main ArcoLinux is that ArcoLinux (xfce, openbox and i3)

reinstall official packages ?

we are using the official packages from Arch Linux
we just made them beautiful and efficient

I am not getting what you want to do

Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:42 pm
by playerone
Sorry I wasn't clear. I mean, if in ArcoLinux I run pacman -Sl arcolinux_repo I see custom xfce panel and thunar packages built from git, among the others (qt5, plank, openbox, etc). I was wondering if I could get the same result using only official Arch packages, if it's not too complicated.

Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:58 am
by erikdubois
What ArcoLinux does is use the official packages.
Then we see that we can tweak or theme it and make an ArcoLinux config for it so it looks out of the box.
I think going to phase 5 will show you how much we actually tweak xfce and all the apps.

So not installing the configs to be found in packages arcolinux-... will show you an original installation.

If you do an ArcoLinuxD installation and then install the ArcoLinux packages one by one you will get a better understanding of what we do.







Re: [SOLVED] ArcoLinux without unofficial repos

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:40 pm
by playerone
Ah, I assumed those arcolinux- packages were custom-compiled binaries, but they're just configuration files. Thanks for your time.