[SOLVED] I wish to change desktop environment

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
Assone
Crewman
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:21 am

[SOLVED] I wish to change desktop environment

Post by Assone »

I at All!!
I installed ArcoLinux with Cinnamon and now I would like to try other desktop like Badgie Mate other ... how can I install others environments desktop on my Cinnamon?

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3273
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] I wish to change desktop environment

Post by erikdubois »

You can easily install all desktops... BUT from time to time they work against each other.

If it is just for testing and learning then go ahead.

Mate : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/MATE

Code: Select all

sudo pacman -S mate mate-extra
https://arcolinuxd.com/17-installation- ... x-phase-4/
https://github.com/arcolinuxd/arco-mate ... ktop-v1.sh

Budgie : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/budgie

Code: Select all

sudo pacman -S budgie-desktop gnome
https://github.com/arcolinuxd/arco-budg ... ktop-v1.sh

You get the drift - look up on arch wiki or on arcolinux websites or on the github.

Then you log out - at top right you select what desktop you want.

Enjoy.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Assone
Crewman
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:21 am

Re: [SOLVED] I wish to change desktop environment

Post by Assone »

Many Thanks Erikdubois !!

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”