Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Root acount access

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:01 pm
by ramo22
I have just install a new version of arcolinux-B xfce and it is some kind different from the version i used
The main problem i can't login as root to my system
always give me wrong password
when i am trying to mount my ntfs partition it ask for the root password which is annoying some kind
i can't use polkit police to auto amount

And i have one more question can i change vivaldi default browser when i open link from pamac-aur

Thank for your hard work and time

Re: Root acount access

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:56 pm
by Nologo
Hi ramo22,

I can answer your second Q.

You have to edit the ~/.config/mimeapps.list

Search for vivaldi, “find and replace” vivaldi and add firefox, if that's your browser.

Or uninstall Vivaldi if you don't need it. ;)

Br
Nologo

Re: [OPEN] Root acount access

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:04 pm
by topf
This comes a bit late, but maybe it can be helpful: ;)

Usually the user "root" isn't allowed to do a graphical login. Use the command "su" or "sudo" instead.
If you want to mount a NTFS volume, then you need the ntfs-3g package (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NTFS-3G).
Edit your /etc/fstab to auto mount your NTFS partition.

Re: [OPEN] Root acount access

Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:17 pm
by erikdubois
You can always reset the password for root but basically calamares sets both passwords user and root.