ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[CLOSED] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:16 am
Canada
[CLOSED] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by vancouver » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:29 am

Hi,
Just like the picture shown in this post: viewtopic.php?f=30&t=1065&p=4351&hilit= ... boot#p4351
I too get that screen after I boot.

What I have done:

Installed ArcoLinux on my laptop and was VERY impressed.
Then proceeded to live (same USB stick) boot my Dell Inspiron 5680 workstation via the "erase disk" option because I only need one OS.

The install went fine and I can see the grub menu. Pressing enter boots but never makes it to the log in.

I then proceeded to install a new instance of KaOS (live USB boot > install) and had the same result.
IMPORTANT! I was able to live boot Manjaro, install and boot with no problems. THAT is weird.

So here is what we have.
The install medium is good because it worked on the laptop and I can live boot my workstation just fine.
Manjaro also uses the same installer and installs fine.

What could I do to get ArcoLinux up and running?

Some specs of the workstation:
NVIDIA Gfx 1070 w. 8Gig of Ram
256 Gig SSD (stock, came with the PC).

That's about all I can think of.
I have installed various Linux distros over the last 20 years and really would love to make ArcoLinux my main distro (if it can run Blender with Cuda which I think that it will).

Thank for any pointers. - v
Last edited by vancouver on Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into noisy screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:36 am

Have you tried the nomodeset that others have tried successfully

Search the forum
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:16 am
Canada
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into noicy screen after new install/first boot

Post by vancouver » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:09 am

I live booted ArcoLinux once more and installed.
Upong booting, I pressed "e" at the grub menu but didn't know where to enter "nomodeset" so I exited and rebooted.

Amazingly, it booted up just fine.
I then proceeded with updating the system and once finished, rebooted once more.

Now I have the same issue. Garbled (unreadable) screen.

I'm close but am worried to do my work on a system that might not boot.
Is there a way to fix this? - thanks, v

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:41 pm

Do you know what graphical card you have?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:42 pm

Have you tried to install the linux-lts kernel?
https://arcolinux.com/installing-a-new- ... linux-zen/
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:16 am
Canada
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by vancouver » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:50 pm

Thank you Eric for your help mm

The GFX card is an Nvidia GTX 1070 with 8 gig of ram.
I have run a different Linux distribution on it for about half a year.

I've installed the standard iso with xfce. For some reason, the laptop (K2000m chip) has no issues but the desktop only booted once into Arco Linux.
After the update, I rebooted hoping that all would be well but got the same garbled screen again.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:12 pm

Do you have also an intel graphics card?

Inxi -F in the terminal will give me that info
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

vancouver
Crewman
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:16 am
Canada
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by vancouver » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:43 am

Thank you for all the help and pointers.

I have ArcoLinux on my laptop and the system is very impressive. I love your work and consider ArcoLinux the best distro which is why I installed it.

No luck on the Dell desktop. I downloaded a new image, reinstalled but always with the same result.

I need to catch up on work and reverted to the previous distro for the time being. I will kepp en eye out on your updates and switch to ArcoLinux as soon as it installs. My desktop PC is new so I assume that everyone who has a gaming pc will face the same issues which means that sooner or later someone will come up with a fix. - v

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:24 pm

Yes it is the kernel mainly that will ensure that new hardware is supported
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux boots into unreadable screen after new install/first boot

Post by erikdubois » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:25 pm

I wonder if you can try this

Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ArcoLinux iso”