ArcoLinux 19.09 iso has been released

[OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

tiny_angel_in_a_jar
Crewman
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:04 pm
Bulgaria
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by tiny_angel_in_a_jar » Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:15 pm

Hello,
I think experienced this issue yesterday on my desktop. I Installed both v6.9.2 and the latest version. The installation hanged on 23 percent and the next few also, but it was actually progressing so I didn't interrupt it and eventually the installation finished, though much slower than supposed. I don't know what is causing it and when installing on my laptop it went just fine.
Regards

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by erikdubois » Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:02 pm

Hardware failing (harddisk or usb) come to mind...
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by erikdubois » Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:04 pm

If you are capable and willing, can you build and try installing this version and tell me if it reacts differently.

https://arcolinuxb.com/byoi-on-arcolinux-xfce/
https://github.com/arcolinuxb/arco-xfce
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

tiny_angel_in_a_jar
Crewman
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:04 pm
Bulgaria
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by tiny_angel_in_a_jar » Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:18 am

Okay so I built a fresh xfce iso and installed it in a fresh virtualbox. Whole installation took about 10 minutes which is pretty normal but still 7 of them took to "Unsquash filesystem" :)
I was going to write down the process taking up so much time but the installation proceeded when that came up in my mind. There was quite noticeable harddisk load during the process :)

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by erikdubois » Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:34 am

quite normal - we 'dump' a lot of software on there.
No need to do anything after that.

You should try arcolinuxd - that is installed so fast - but hey only 900MB to unsquash
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by erikdubois » Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:37 am

Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] I can not install ArcoLinux in Virtualbox

Post by erikdubois » Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:08 pm

Closing this old post.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ArcoLinux iso”