[CLOSED] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

codestruggler
Crewman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:32 pm
[CLOSED] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by codestruggler » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:10 am

Hello I am a new Arco linux user and a new Linux user in General. Been using Ubuntu since 2 years now. But I came across Arco linux and wanted to try it out. I have a brand new HP Envy laptop with 32 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, 1TB HDD. It comes pre-installed with windows 10 on the SSD drive.
I made a live USB of Arco linux 6.9.2 enabled legacy support in the BIOS and changed the boot order and booted into the USB. In the screen where you
Select the Storage device it shows only my 1TB HDD drive and no SSD. At this point I want to dual boot with windows but even if I had to erase
windows I still cannot because I cannot see the SSD drive. I tried these solutions which I came across.
1. Shrinked the SSD drive and reduced the OS partition
2. Ran powercfg –h off to stop windows hibernating
3. Ran chkdsk /f /x /r from the windows powershell

I hope i am not a trouble maker in these forums because of not doing thorough research regarding this topic
I got a solution but it was too technical for me to get it.
https://forum.manjaro.org/t/solved-inst ... rive/31264

Would be grateful if I solution for this and thank you for creating an awesome distribution.
Last edited by codestruggler on Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3124
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by erikdubois » Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:23 pm

As I understand it you can boot into the live environment - you get the installer Calamares but can not select the ssd.

If that is correct, can you launch gparted and show us an image what it sees? (you can use imgur and other to host an image)
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

codestruggler
Crewman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:32 pm
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by codestruggler » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:47 am

Hello Erik,

I am really sorry I could not reply earlier. I could not access the internet though I was connected to my wifi. There was no nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf. But somehow my Arco linux hanged and after i did a hard reboot the entries were there. So now I can access the internet through the Live USB stick. I have the hosted the gparted image on imgur
https://i.imgur.com/wWZnHLQ.png

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by darknetmatrix » Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:11 am

seems you have ntfs file-system for windows, for linux i advise you to format in ext4 file-system
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

codestruggler
Crewman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:32 pm
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by codestruggler » Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:25 am

oh yes but it has to be done by the Calamares installer right ? Or am I missing something ? Right now I am just booting through the live usb. But the main issue is that the SSD drive is still not visible.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3124
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by erikdubois » Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:46 am

IN the top right you can select your drive. Is there an other drive there?
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

nickpetrov
Commander
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:04 am
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by nickpetrov » Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:59 am

I have a HP envy Laptop.

since there is 2 drives. Turn off legacy boot, and turn off secure boot in the bios.

make sure both drives have a gpt partition table. You will have to use EFI for these drives. If you use legacy, it will either only show one drive, or one of the drives won't be bootable. This is what happens on mine.With everything EFI and gpt no problem here

codestruggler
Crewman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:32 pm
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by codestruggler » Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:16 am

Hello Erik,

Yes gparted shows there are two drives in the drop down top right corner
/dev/sda (931,51 GB) HDD hard disk
/dev/sdb (14.59 GB) USB stick

I don't see my SSD drive.

Hello NickPetrov,

Thank you for taking interest in my issue. I will have to read more about EFI and gpt partition tables and try your solution.
Meanwhile if you have any links where you have a solution for this or any video then please post it here.
If I solve my problem then ofcourse i will post my solution here.

Thank and Regards

User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by darknetmatrix » Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:34 am

linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

codestruggler
Crewman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:32 pm
Re: [OPEN] ArcoLinux Installer does not detect SSD drive

Post by codestruggler » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:22 pm

Hello DarkNetMatrix,

Both my Disks the SSD(windows installed here) and the Hard disk(empty) are GPT partitioned (Checked it in the Disk Management) but only the Hard disk gets recognised by Calamares.
I have secure boot disabled by default in the UEFI and legacy support is also disabled.
I shrinked the windows C drive and made another partition(F) and it still does not get detected.
Any other things that you could think of ? So thankful for all the help and learning.

Regards
Sohan


Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ArcoLinux iso”