Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:57 pm
by vancouver
I am trying to configure my Wacom tablet to use the second/right of two 4k monitors.

xrandr sees them as:

DP-2 connected 3840x2160+3840+0
DP-4 connected 3840x2160+0+0

xsetwacom set "Wacom Intuos Pro L Pad pad" MapToOutput DP-4

generates this error msg: Unable to find an output 'DP-4'

If anyone happens to be a gfx designer and uses a drawing tablet then I'd appreciate a hint on how I could constrain the tablet to monitor DP-4.
Thanks - v

P.S.
The output of "xsetwacom list" is:
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen stylus id: 9 type: STYLUS
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pad pad id: 10 type: PAD
Wacom Intuos Pro L Finger touch id: 11 type: TOUCH
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen eraser id: 23 type: ERASER
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen cursor id: 24 type: CURSOR.

UPDATE!
There was an easy solution. Instead of DP-X, I just used HEAD-0. Done!

Re: [OPEN] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:28 am
by erikdubois
No hardware like that in possession
if anyone can pitch in

Re: [SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:36 am
by vancouver
This is no longer an issue and the tablet works as expected.
The fix was easy. Instead of DP-2, I used HEAD-0.

The full command is:
xsetwacom --set "device name as per list" MapToOutput HEAD-0

Remember that "xrandr" and "xsetwacom --list" are key to success. - v

Re: [SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:57 am
by erikdubois
thanks for sharing the knowledge

Re: [SOLVED] xsetwacom > Unable to find an output 'DP-2

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:58 am
by vancouver
UPDATE!
I lost ArcoLinux for a bit because my Dell workstation is not as Linux-friendly as I hoped it would be.

With the latest ISO, the above command: xsetwacom set "Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen" MapToOutput HEAD-0
no longer works but I just found the fix and want to post it here for those who use dual monitors with a WACOM graphics tablet.

I just used this command and got the expected result: xsetwacom set "10" MapToOutput HEAD-0

What has changed? the "set 10" part.

For comparison, here is the xsetwacom --list devices output:

Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen stylus id: 10 type: STYLUS
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pad pad id: 11 type: PAD
Wacom Intuos Pro L Finger touch id: 12 type: TOUCH
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen eraser id: 24 type: ERASER
Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen cursor id: 25 type: CURSOR

Note the "id 10" and substitute if for set "Wacom Intuos Pro L Pen".

MXLinux, also XFCE based, struggles with constraining a tablet to just one monitor.

Eric Dubois rocks, ArcoLinux rolls. Therefore, ArcoLinux is a Rock & Roll distro! :)