ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[INFO]SSD owners: Set Firefox to memory cache instead of disk

Must read
Post Reply
User avatar
darknetmatrix
Captain
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:47 pm
Contact:
Belgium
[INFO]SSD owners: Set Firefox to memory cache instead of disk

Post by darknetmatrix » Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:21 am

Small block disk writes are the bane of SSD's everywhere :), and Web browsers are one of the worst perpetrators of small block disk writes.
Set Firefox to use memory cache (thusly):

1. open up about:config (type it into the url bar)
2. type browser.cache into the filter bar at the top.
3. Find browser.cache.disk.enable and set it to false (by double clicking on it).
4. set browser.cache.memory.enable to true
5. create a new preference by right clicking anywhere, hit New, and choose Integer.
6. Call the new preference browser.cache.memory.capacity and hit OK.
7. In the next window, where it asks for the number of kilobytes you want to assign to the cache, just enter -1 to tell Firefox to dynamically determine the cache size.
linux user # 527315
I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.

Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

chrisros
Crewman
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:15 pm
Sweden
Re: [INFO]SSD owners: Set Firefox to memory cache instead of disk

Post by chrisros » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:53 pm

Thanks. Very useful. This config setting should be the default.

User avatar
linusvanpelt
Crewman
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:02 am
Australia
Re: [INFO]SSD owners: Set Firefox to memory cache instead of disk

Post by linusvanpelt » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:57 pm

darknetmatrix wrote:
Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:21 am
Small block disk writes are the bane of SSD's everywhere :), and Web browsers are one of the worst perpetrators of small block disk writes.
Set Firefox to use memory cache (thusly):

1. open up about:config (type it into the url bar)
2. type browser.cache into the filter bar at the top.
3. Find browser.cache.disk.enable and set it to false (by double clicking on it).
4. set browser.cache.memory.enable to true
5. create a new preference by right clicking anywhere, hit New, and choose Integer.
6. Call the new preference browser.cache.memory.capacity and hit OK.
7. In the next window, where it asks for the number of kilobytes you want to assign to the cache, just enter -1 to tell Firefox to dynamically determine the cache size.
What would be uber-cool is if, during the Arco Linux installation, it detected if 1) the disk was an SSD, 2) Firefox is installed (which it would be since Arco Linux installs it), and 3) implements the above automatically. Does Chrome, Chromium, Vivaldi, etc. have similar settings?
Experienced programmer (ETL/DI/BI/SQL/Databases) but relatively new to Linux.
Lenovo X1 Yoga, Intel Core i7-6600U MB, 14.0 OLED WQHD Touch, 1TB SSD PCIe-NVMe,
16GB LPDDR3 SDRAM 1866 MB, Intel 8260AC+BT 2x2 vPro, Huawei ME906S WAN, Fingerprint Reader


Post Reply

Return to “Tips and Tricks”