ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

Hello from Belgium!

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself. Please don't post tech support questions here
Phoenix750
Crewman
Belgium
Hello from Belgium!

Post by Phoenix750 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:30 pm

Hello everyone, Phoenix750 here. So, first a little about myself: I am an electrical technician hailing from Belgium (more specifically Flanders/the Dutch speaking part). Because of my job, I am very much into information security. "Why is that?", you may be wondering. Nowadays almost everything gets connected to some kind of computer, many devices of which I install and make operational everyday. Traffic lights, railroads, conveyor belts, petrochemical plants... You name it, and somehow it will be involved in the Internet of Things. I am of the opinion that it is my duty to learn about security of those systems so I can ensure that my clients will be safe from any cyberthreats. I have gone to great lengths in this, helping in the founding of 0x00sec.org and being their community manager since recently. (that's all the self advertising for this introduction, I swear).

Ofcourse, when I got into infosec, I also got into Linux. I never found a distro that would fit my needs: it was either too slow with updates, unstable, wasn't looking nice enough... And then I stumbled upon Arco, and I must say I have fallen in love with it. It is everything I was looking for: Arch-based without delayed packages (unlike other arch-based distros), it was nice looking, and ArcoLinuxD allows me to have a base and modify it before I build it. I installed the ArcoLinuxD core and then modified Erik's scripts to remove or install things I wanted (mind you, I am already familiar with Bash, so it was easy to do so for me) instead of the defaults.