Page 1 of 1

[FOLLOW-UP] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard in ArcoLinuxB-Budgie?

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:41 pm
by Acid666
Impossible to change without spending a half hour of research.

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard?

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:00 pm
by erikdubois
What system are you working with?
ArcoLInuxD or ArcoLInuxB

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard?

Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:36 am
by marmaduke
I also had this issue with the ArcoLinuxB iso, both the pre-built iso on sourceforge and using the scripts. The login screen uses the keyboard selected during installation, but when you login the desktop then uses the Belgian keyboard.

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard?

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:03 am
by erikdubois
Action to investigate

I download the latest iso of ArcoLinuxB-Budgie.
Set the keyboard to US qwerty in Calamares - livedvd
And I will get BE keyboard.
Correct ?

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard?

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:48 am
by erikdubois
I will have to investigate it more to know where this data is coming from.

Lightdm is in qwerty
but then sublime-text or atom are in azerty...

Use this to set it right for now

Code: Select all

sudo setxkbmap -layout us
Put this line of code into your .bashrc and it will continue to be us between reboots

OR

set the extra keyboard in gnome-control-center

Image

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboardin ArcoLinuxB-Budgie?

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:45 am
by erikdubois
After further investigation I see that /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-keyboard.conf changes its content after you add US to the gnome settings.

Code: Select all

...
Option "XkbLayout" "us,be"
...
Editing this file will result in the us keyboard like it would if you went via the gnome settings, is my calculated guess.

Re: [OPEN] Why does Budgie have a Belgian keyboard in ArcoLinuxB-Budgie?

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:53 am
by erikdubois
I did the same thing on ArcoLinuxB Plasma.

Put my keyboard to US in calamares and sure enough I land into a qwerty keyboard in Plasma.

I will test it on other desktops. It might be a Gnome/Budgie thing.