ArcoLinux -D -B 19.5 iso's have been released

[OPEN] Calamares hanging. Not able to go past the first step

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
ayhon
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:53 pm
Spain
[OPEN] Calamares hanging. Not able to go past the first step

Post by ayhon » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:18 pm

I've seen in the fixed issues a similar problem in which calamares will load forever because it was trying to access a server that wasn't available at that time, and whose solution was to unable the networking through the system tray and select the location manually.

However, my problem starts even before that. I just booted into the USB, and I cannot advance in the installation steps because Calamares is waiting for a module. As of right now, 1851 seconds have passed, and it is still loading.

To further explain, the live session started and I was greeted with Calamares already in this step. I'm able to move the mouse and select my preferred language, even go open a terminal, but not to click next in the installation process.

My machine is fairly old, with 1GB of RAM. **I'm using ArcoLinuxB minimal (i3), but** I've tried it in the letterless edition (i3 as well).

I managed to pull down a terminal with Super+Enter, and it shows that 0.6 out of 0.9 GB of RAM are being used. I connected to the internet using nmtui (checked with ping)

Any help would be appreciated. If I have to do a GUI less installation like in arch, I think I could manage, but I'm not a tech savy guy (yet)

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2119
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Calamares hanging. Not able to go past the first step

Post by erikdubois » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:03 pm

1 GB is very low... there are checks in Calamares to see if it has enough memory.
I would think it would tell you if it is not enough.

Calamaris is not our project so we are analyzing like anyone else.

Make sure you are connected via LAN if you can.

The thing is we do not know what module is halting the installation.

I have made tutorials to dig deeper in the world of Calamares.

Like starting it with this code from a terminal

Code: Select all

pkexec calamares -d
It may reveal more info.

Not sure if it is worth all that trouble. You decide that.

Furthermore there are iso's that go back years. You can try any iso of the past and see if the older calamares versions do work on your system.

Happy hunting.

Check the video's about calamares to know more.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

ayhon
recruit crewman
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:53 pm
Spain
Re: [OPEN] Calamares hanging. Not able to go past the first step

Post by ayhon » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:06 pm

Ok, thanks. I take it I cannot install arcolinux without calamares then. I'll see what I can do.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2119
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] Calamares hanging. Not able to go past the first step

Post by erikdubois » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:21 am

Calamares is the installer.
If calamares does not work, you can only try out the older iso's and see if they work.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”