[OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

erikdubois wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:37 am
https://arcolinux.info/arcolinux-launch ... rt-kernel/

https://bike.seedhost.eu/arcolinux/aag/

Download an iso with the letter LTS in them.

If that works we know your hardware requires the linux-lts kernel.
Downloading it :)

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

xeoncpu wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:04 pm
Not acces to TTY!
Listen,just click e when you see grub menu(boot menu )
when you in search for the linux line at the end "quiet" after that type 3 and do F10 ....and you boot to TTY :)
Will try with that later this week. Will post results soon.

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

erikdubois wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:37 am
https://arcolinux.info/arcolinux-launch ... rt-kernel/

https://bike.seedhost.eu/arcolinux/aag/

Download an iso with the letter LTS in them.

If that works we know your hardware requires the linux-lts kernel.
Hi Erik.

With Arcolinux B Deepin 19.07.09 LTS the live ISO blocks on endeless wait after autologin when loading LDM.
Used Balena Etcher to create the USB boot disk.

Tested with several variants of grub kernel options below (one, few, all, none) that worked with live ISO before.

Code: Select all

nomodeset modprobe.blacklist=noveau acpi_osi=! acpi_iso=windows i915.preliminary_hw_support=1

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3166
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by erikdubois »

We are out of ideas

just this one

does any of the linux iso's work on your hardware?

And which one will work
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

erikdubois wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:58 pm
We are out of ideas

just this one

does any of the linux iso's work on your hardware?

And which one will work
Going to test tomorrow with arcolinux-lts-v19.07.9.iso which seems to have a lot more options :D

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3166
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by erikdubois »

Good to hear you are not giving up
then neither are we
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

Hum! On boot the live ISO is not supposed to load the file at /arch/boot/syslinux/archiso_sys.cfg ? I don't see those options when booting.

Code: Select all

INCLUDE boot/syslinux/archiso_head.cfg

LABEL arch64
TEXT HELP
Boot the ArcoLinux (x86_64) live medium.
It allows you to install ArcoLinux or perform system maintenance.
ENDTEXT
MENU LABEL Boot ArcoLinux (x86_64)
LINUX boot/x86_64/vmlinuz
INITRD boot/intel_ucode.img,boot/amd_ucode.img,boot/x86_64/archiso.img
APPEND archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCOLINUX-V

LABEL arch64 nouveau
TEXT HELP
Boot the ArcoLinux (x86_64) live medium.
It allows you to install ArcoLinux or perform system maintenance.
ENDTEXT
MENU LABEL Boot ArcoLinux (x86_64) nouveau
LINUX boot/x86_64/vmlinuz
INITRD boot/intel_ucode.img,boot/amd_ucode.img,boot/x86_64/archiso.img nouveau.modeset=1 i915.modeset=0 radeon.modeset=0
APPEND archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCOLINUX-V 

LABEL arch64 radeon
TEXT HELP
Boot the ArcoLinux (x86_64) live medium.
It allows you to install ArcoLinux or perform system maintenance.
ENDTEXT
MENU LABEL Boot ArcoLinux (x86_64) radeon
LINUX boot/x86_64/vmlinuz
INITRD boot/intel_ucode.img,boot/amd_ucode.img,boot/x86_64/archiso.img nouveau.modeset=0 i915.modeset=0 radeon.modeset=1
APPEND archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCOLINUX-V cow_spacesize=4G

LABEL arch64 i915
TEXT HELP
Boot the ArcoLinux (x86_64) live medium.
It allows you to install ArcoLinux or perform system maintenance.
ENDTEXT
MENU LABEL Boot ArcoLinux (x86_64) i915
LINUX boot/x86_64/vmlinuz
INITRD boot/intel_ucode.img,boot/amd_ucode.img,boot/x86_64/archiso.img nouveau.modeset=0 i915.modeset=1 radeon.modeset=0
APPEND archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCOLINUX-V cow_spacesize=4G

LABEL arch64 nomodeset
TEXT HELP
Boot the ArcoLinux (x86_64) live medium.
It allows you to install ArcoLinux or perform system maintenance.
ENDTEXT
MENU LABEL Boot ArcoLinux (x86_64) nomodeset
LINUX boot/x86_64/vmlinuz
INITRD boot/intel_ucode.img,boot/amd_ucode.img,boot/x86_64/archiso.img nomodeset
APPEND archisobasedir=arch archisolabel=ARCOLINUX-V cow_spacesize=4G

INCLUDE boot/syslinux/archiso_tail.cfg

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

Ok. Live boots. Tested the last v19.07.11 series :-)

Next step. Install it and test if it boots from HD.
Last edited by lopoalmeida on Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3166
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by erikdubois »

Not sure If I can close this topic.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

lopoalmeida
Crewman
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] Freezes after login. Not even access to TTY

Post by lopoalmeida »

Can't. I've been very busy and didn't had the time to install it yet.

What I can assure is that it boots the live USB with alb-gnome-v19.07.11 ISO but does not boot at all with alb-gnome-lts-v19.07.11 ISO
ALSO, have to add the following code to the grub line on the live USB to make it boot:

Code: Select all

noveau.modeset=0 i915.modeset=1 radeon.modeset=0 acpi_osi=! cpi_osi=windows

Post Reply

Return to “Installation issues of ArcoLinux iso”