[CLOSED] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post Reply
Poetician
Crewman
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:00 pm

[CLOSED] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by Poetician »

I've installed Thunderbird to replace Evolution, and Google Earth in the last day. I've set and assigned them workspaces as follows using font-awesome fonts and copy/pasting from my i3 Mint config:
set $ws1 "1 Firefox "
set $ws2 "2 File Manager "
set $ws3 "3 Media "
set $ws4 "4 Kdenlive "
set $ws5 "5 Writer "
set $ws6 "6 Gimp "
set $ws7 "7 Thunderbird "
set $ws8 "8 Google Earth "
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws0 "10"
assign [class="Firefox"] "1 Firefox "
assign [class="Thunar"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="Cherrytree"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="libreoffice"] "5 Writer "
assign [class="kdenlive"] "4 Kdenlive "
assign [class="Rhythmbox"] "3 Media "
assign [class="vlc"] "3 Media "
assign [class="GNU Image Manipulation Program"] "6 Gimp "
assign [class="Mozilla Thunderbird"] "7 Thunderbird "
assign [class="Google Earth Pro"] "8 Google Earth "
The behavior is like a wrong loop commands are stuck in. Gimp, Thunderbird, and Google Earth all load in ws1 as set above, not their respective assigned workspaces. When I modkey them to their assigned workspaces, they go to "6" "7" and "8" respectively. When I switch workspaces by modkey I go to the workspaces as I've configured them, with 6,7, and 8 also live.

Not getting any errors, just not the correct results. I'm sure I'll come up with better one's, but this is the puzzle I have for now...
Last edited by Poetician on Fri Sep 20, 2019 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ryzen 7 2700, 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200, MSI Armor RX-580, ASUS Crosshair Hero VII X470, Sabrent NVMe

Poetician
Crewman
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: [OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by Poetician »

Update: going one step at a time, I manually set $ws1 to "1 Mozilla" and assigned Firefox and Thunderbird to it, and it loads as expected. One down two to go. Further update: however, Gimp and Google Earth only open on the active workspace. $mod+Shift+6 sends Gimp to "6", while $mod+6 opens the "6 Gimp" workspace.
Last edited by Poetician on Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ryzen 7 2700, 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200, MSI Armor RX-580, ASUS Crosshair Hero VII X470, Sabrent NVMe

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3338
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by erikdubois »

great to hear

I wait for you.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

Poetician
Crewman
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: [OPEN] Apps won't launch in assigned workspaces

Post by Poetician »

I edited the previous while delayed by a phone call, so you might have missed the last part. This is the current setup:
set $ws1 "1 Mozilla  "
set $ws2 "2 File Manager "
set $ws3 "3 Media "
set $ws4 "4 Kdenlive "
set $ws5 "5 Writer "
set $ws6 "6 Gimp "
set $ws7 "7 Google Earth "
set $ws8 "8 "
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws0 "10"

assign [class="Firefox"] "1 Mozilla  "
assign [class="Mozilla Thunderbird"] "1 Mozilla  "
assign [class="Thunar"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="Cherrytree"] "2 File Manager "
assign [class="Rhythmbox"] "3 Media "
assign [class="vlc"] "3 Media "
assign [class="kdenlive"] "4 Kdenlive "
assign [class="libreoffice"] "5 Writer "
assign [class="GNU Image Manipulation Program"] "6 Gimp "
assign [class="Google Earth Pro"] "7 Google Earth "
Google Earth loaded into ws2 as though simply because it was the active workspace when it finished loading. Gimp persists to load in ws1. Since my main interest is simply having the two open in assigned workspaces when I use them, having them run at startup is for completion only. I intend to comment them out regardless whether this gets resolved, since I don't use them all the time.
Ryzen 7 2700, 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200, MSI Armor RX-580, ASUS Crosshair Hero VII X470, Sabrent NVMe

Post Reply

Return to “i3-wm”