[OPEN] do i need antivirus?

First check the forums - Do not know where to put it then put it here
Post Reply
abutrab
Crewman
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:53 pm
[OPEN] do i need antivirus?

Post by abutrab » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:56 pm

hi all ,
when i was using firefox i get page telling me to install ConvertoWiz and mistakenly i pressed yes , after searching net , they say it is a virus ,
do i need to install antivirus and scan my laptop or it doesn't affect linux ?
i know it may be a silly question , but i just want to be sure.
thanks.

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2866
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] do i need antivirus?

Post by erikdubois » Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:55 am

It seems to change your browser settings.

See if anything is changing in this regard.

If no - you are in the clear.

You can always delete the cache and .config folders for the browsers to see if that helps.
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

abutrab
Crewman
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:53 pm
Re: [OPEN] do i need antivirus?

Post by abutrab » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:04 am

Thanks Eric.
Is arcolinux done by you only ? or do you have partners in this distro?

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 2866
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Belgium
Re: [OPEN] do i need antivirus?

Post by erikdubois » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:35 am

Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

abutrab
Crewman
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:53 pm
Re: [OPEN] do i need antivirus?

Post by abutrab » Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:19 am

thanks for answering me , good luck 4 all the team , i hope arco will be n#1 OS in the world soon.
regards.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions”