[OPEN] kworker high cpu

Post Reply
csige
Crewman
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:44 pm

[OPEN] kworker high cpu

Post by csige »

Hy!

Is it normal for the kworker process to use so many resources on a fresh system? There is a new installation in the picture, only the updates have been installed.

I have a Manjaro Plasma also installed on another ssd, but there is not as high a cpu usage after booting and at rest.

The 3rd ssd has windows 10, cpu usage is not that high either.

There is old computer. Gigabyte Intel 775 motherboard, modding for Xeon cpu, Quadro 4000 vga, 8 GB ram.

Thanks for the answers.

Image

User avatar
erikdubois
Captain
Posts: 3273
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [OPEN] kworker high cpu

Post by erikdubois »

Google

kworker high cpu

many hits

See if it continues to be high after a few hours
Learn, have fun and enjoy.
But first use the power of the Arch Wiki
use the tutorials on https://www.youtube.com/erikdubois
then use the power of google
then use the power of our moderators.

csige
Crewman
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] kworker high cpu

Post by csige »

Yes, it was. I left for one night. Kworker also had 10-15% usage in the morning.

csige
Crewman
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:44 pm

Re: [OPEN] kworker high cpu

Post by csige »

erikdubois wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:42 pm
...
I found out. The video card does it because of a driver, I used Nouveau. I use the 390xx driver with Manjaro, there is no such problem there. But if I switch to the Nouveau driver there too, this problem will occur immediately. I may not have any idea, because I have read in several places that Nouveau is the recommended driver. I'd rather use it. The video card is an Nvidia Quadro 4000.

edit:
Within this, picom is also causing the problem. If I turn it off ok, if it back then it will jump above 10% again for cpu usage.

Post Reply

Return to “BYOI ArcoLinuxB Awesome”